top of page


The Poway Community Choir is a volunteer group in the Greater San Diego area that pursues choral excellence. Founded in 2015, the choir is a member of the Choral Consortium of San Diego and is administered by the Poway Adult School.

OUR MISSION: A group that sings, united by their love of music, inevitably creates a strong sense of community to more fully understand and perform great choral literature. Our goal is to provide the best possible musical experience for our choir members and to share performances of the highest quality with our audiences.




Brooke Yang is a current member of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) and the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA).

Seoul, South Korea native Soprano Brooke Yang has sung and taught throughout the Bay Area since she moved to California in 1997. She has performed as a soloist with various chorale groups at venues like Herbst Theatre and Davies symphony hall. Her oratorio repertoire includes major works by Mozart, Faure, Haydn, Beethoven and others.  Ms. Yang has directed a variety of church choirs and ensembles. She received her Master's Degree in Voice from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and a Bachelor’s Degree from Sook Myoung Women’s University in South Korea. Ms.Yang moved to San Diego in 2022 and resides in Encinitas.

Sun-Lim (accompanist)_edited_2.jpg

Ms. Sun Mi Lim is pianist, accompanist, and teacher, with a Master's and a Bachelor's degree in piano performance from Kyung-Hee University in Korea. As an MTAC (Music Teachers of America) member, she teaches piano at her music studio, and accompanies the CantAmore Chorus,

Poway Community Choir, Mission Aria (Classical Vocal Ensemble), and the Korean United Methodist Church in San Diego, plus individual vocalists and instrumentalists.



 Nancy V. Gray

Nancy Gray Director Poway Community Choir

Nancy V. Gray founded the Choir in 2015 when she retired after 35 years of teaching public school choral music with her most recent position at Poway High School in the Poway Unified School District.  Her choirs have performed in national venues including Carnegie Hall, Orchestra Hall in Chicago, Davies Symphony Hall, and Segerstrom Center for the Arts.

Her awards and recognitions include CMEA Fortissimo Award of Excellence in Choral Music 2011, CMEA State Choral Educator Award 2002, National Board Certification 2003, and music staff member for Grammy Signature Gold School Award 2001 and 2006. In retirement she was a part-time lecturer at San Diego State University, supervising student teachers, adjudicating choral festivals, and conducting the Poway Community Choir. She moved to Arizona in 2023.

 Steven E. Gray

Dr. Steven Gray, Piano Acompanist Poway Community Choir

Steven studied piano and organ as he grew up in Illinois, then attended the University of Colorado, earning a Bachelor of Music degrees in both instruments. He added his Masters at UC Santa Barbara and Doctorate at Stanford University.

He was a member of the Palomar College Music faculty for over 30 years and 26 years as Director of Music at Clairemont Lutheran Church.

He lives in Arizona with Nancy.


Mary Best

Robert  Brooks

Dale  Bryan

Patricia Carlisle

Mercedes Delgado

Jangmi Eisenberg

Adrienne Ferrell

Sharon Gehrke

Rina Nghoreishi

Regina Guarin

Clayton Harris

Margaret Hellwarth

Haeji Hong

Joanna  Jaeger

Henrik Jonson

Claudette Juarez

David Korb

Valerie Kurtz

Sandie Martha

Ann Moon

Colleen Neverisky

Storm Orion

Chiara Orlandi

Deanna Pennington

Alexander  Pruetting

Cynthia Rhine

Linda Snyder

David  Stanley

Ganesh Subramanyam

Stan Taylor

Ruth Thorpe

Henry Truett

Mark Van Brussel

Kara Wald

Chinghu Wang


Katie Acampora

Matthew Adams

Bryan Adamson

Elena Alexandrova

Carroll Allman

Barbara Anderson

Natalie Arnold

Neil Baljon

Mary Best

Yumiko Blanford

Lisa Blank

Anji Borzo-Kenley

Natalia Botiller

Janice Bowles

Joan Boylan

 Robert  Brooks

 Dale  Bryan

Jill Cameron

Mary Caraway

Patricia Carlisle

Nathan Casey

Tracy Childs

Alison Claas

Barbara Clark

Susanne Colyer

Jenna Conklin

Pam Coon

Heidi Dalvie

Nancy Datte

Donald DeLeon

Mercedes Delgado

Missy Digius

Alice Dodd

Joel Doss

Meghan Eberhardt

Alexander Egan

Cathy Ehlers

Soojin Eum

Kathy Fait

Dana Farrell

Adrienne Ferrell

Kathryn Frank

Abigail Frisch

Emily Frisch

Ron Garrett

Sharon Gehrke

David Gill

Francesca Goff

Calvin Gonda

Karen Gordon

Regina Guarin

Jason Guzon

Victoria Hansen

Julie Hardie

Clayton Harris

Margaret Hellwarth

David Hernandez

Linda Hernandez

Tom Hillary

Vickie Hoey

Haeji Hong

Chance Jackson

Joanna Jaeger

Sandra Jancic

Jerian Javaherian

Kathy Jeffries

Carlene Johnson

Kenneth Johnson

Martha Johnson

Jaki Jones

Henrik Jonson

Alisha Jurgenson

Cynthia Kassel

Greg Katakalidis

Jennifer Keadey

Peter Kern

Elizabeth Kerrigan

Evone King

David Korb

Markéta Kryslová

Valerie Kurtz

Lisa Latven

Mary Leitner

Anna Lettang

Kathleen Lewis

Ivone Liu

Mark Lucas

Kathreen Lynch

Jeffrey Meyer

Teri Middleton

Pat Moller

Mark Monroe

 Ann  Moon

Karen Morison

Evelyn Nakata

Colleen Neverisky

Alexandra Nicholson

Kim Niehans

Julielynne O'Connor

Susan O'Leary

Storm Orion

Chiara Orlandi

George Ponder

Allyson Power

Laura Preece

Alexander Pruetting

Rivi Raz

Aiyanna Reissman

Dawn Ressel

Cynthia Rhine

Nedra Robins

Gary Robinson

Barbara Romano

Carolyn Rossé

Diana Rossio

Lindsay Rossio

Ashley Schaljo

Tina Settergren

Stephanie Slagle

Kathleen Stanton

Louise Strecker

Ganesh Subramanyam

Patrice Switzer

MaryJo Thomas

Ruth Thorpe

Char Thorvick

Henry Truett

Mark VanBrussel

Linda Vanderveen

Annika Vawter

April Veloria

Dawn Wagner

Jill Waite

Kara Wald

Gabriela Waldorf

Carol Wigda

Melinda Wilson

Poway Community Choir Holiday Concert
bottom of page